Back to Food & Dining

Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling (merged owner's reply)

Cork On the Ocean avatar
directionally challengedLocked
23,506 views
On December 26, 2007, I took my family of 5 people to Defuniak Springs to see the Christmas light show and have dinner at Hotel Defuniak's Bogies "fine dining" restaurant. My family came up to the panhandle to spend our first Christmas since my dad's recent diagnosis with cancer.
Unfortunately, the total disregard for respect or quality service at Bogie's restaurant made our evening a horrible experience and left a very bad image of the otherwise quaint town of Defuniak Springs.

We arrived at Bogies and were told it would be an hour before we could be seated so we took this opportunity to see the wonderful Christmas light show. The attendants were friendly and the light show was wonderful!
We returned to Bogies at 6:45 and were promptly seated and our order was quickly taken. We got our drinks quickly but it took 45 minutes to get our bread and butter. We finally got our salads an hour and a 15 minutes after we were seated. 3 tables that were seated after us were served and finished eating. Finally after 1 hour 45 minutes, my mom went up to the hostess and said it's been nearly 2 hours and while we were told it would be a while because of a another large table, 2 hours is just ridiculous. We were then told 3 times that our dinner was coming and after 2 hours our dinner finally arrived - COLD! We told the waitress that we were leaving and to bring our check which came to $30 and we paid it.

At this point, we had received bad service which can happen at times but what happened next was the most appalling thing that I've ever seen in an establishment of fine dining. I asked to speak to the manager and was told to talk to the bartender who had me wait about 5 minutes and then finally approached me. I calmly and softly explained what had happened with our dinner, that we had driven over an hour from south walton and how disappointed we all were. The bartender was very rude and asked "What do you want me to do?" I told her the least that should have been done was to have our 3 drinks compted for the frustration and inconvenience. She looked at me and verbatim said "Nothing that I can do would make you happy because you're PISSED!" I couldn't believe the language and rude attitude at such an establishment. I told her that I was not "pissed" because if I was I would be upset and yelling at her which I was not. That I was trying to tell her how terrible the experience was. I then said, "This is just terrible, my sister is diabetic and asked where were we supposed to get dinner at almost 9PM". She just stood there and looked at me with a blank stare. I then asked her for her name - to which she asked me why. I said because I was told that you were the manager and I intended to contact the Walton Sun. She then told me that she wasn't going to give me her name and that I should leave. I really couldn't believe that the manager used profanity, was absolutely unsympathetic and refused to give me her name.

It is so sad that people are so unkind, especially at Christmas. As we drove through the beautiful light show with it's various lighted messages about peace and the spirit of Christmas, I never dreamed that the arguably "best" restaurant in town had none of the spirit of christmas of small town neighborly love.

The best food in the world is terrible when it's served cold, after 2 hours of waiting with poor and disrespectful service from the employees. I will stay on 30A where the restaurants strive for excellence but even if delays or problems do occur, people still treat others with respect and kindness.

Edited

Replies

134
Smiling JOe avatar
SoWal Expert
#2
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Wow! I'd be finding out who the owner is and giving them my opinion if I were you. That ain't right.
John R avatar
needs to get out more
#3
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

what a bummer. with the competition tight between restaurants, especially in north county, you'd figure they'd be falling over themselves to satisfy you. guess i'll look for another place to dine up in defunk.
Matt J avatar
SWGB
#4
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Another example of why not to dine above Hwy 20.
Beach House 25 avatar
Banned
#5
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Dars No Place Like Home!:wub:
Beach Fanatic
#6
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Too bad you had this experience at Bogie's. When the hotel and restaurant were under the previous owners' management, it was quite good and the service was good. I urge you to contact the owners and let them know about this experience, perhaps send them your post and tell them how many people are active on this Web site. This place struggles because it is "fine dining" in a place where people tend to go elsewhere. For example, Mom and Dad's Italian restaurant out on Highway 90 West is the "in" spot for DeFuniak people, even though the food is mediocre at best. But people go there out of habit and because they'll see their friends there. The other standard spot is Ed's Tastee Freeze, which offers comfort food (and great fried chicken) instead of the fast food one would expect. If the management of Bogie's has any pride and concern at all, they would invite you to return and your meal would be on the house. I won't hold my breath for this. However, they should at least be aware of how their service staff responded to your complaint. They should be fired.

The spot I love to go to when I visit my family in DeFuniak is The Busy Bee Cafe, although I'm not sure if they are open for dinner. The lunch is fun, the service very good, and the food is well prepared. I especially like their panko-crusted grouper and the fried green tomatoes.

I will be eager to hear what kind of response you get from Bogie's, should you pursue this. You might also send a copy of your letter to the local Chamber of Commerce, as their holiday light show is a big revenue generator in the town each year.
Cork On the Ocean avatar
directionally challengedAuthor
#7
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Thanks guys. Most of you know me and know that I'm not the type to be mean or start a scene in a restaurant but you are all right and your input Donna says a lot. I did send an email to the owner, copied the Chamber and posted a bad review on the Sun, newsherald and various other travel and restaurant reviews.

I also have been to the Hotel DeFuniak restaurant quite a few times over the years and it was fabulous before the new owners took over. We considered Mom and Dad's but I really wanted them to experience the great dining that I THOUGHT Bogie's would be. Maybe we'll do Borago's tonight where I can depend on being treated right with a great meal!

Will keep you guys posted to see if they even care!
steele mama avatar
Beach Fanatic
#8
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Thanks guys. Most of you know me and know that I'm not the type to be mean or start a scene in a restaurant but you are all right and your input Donna says a lot. I did send an email to the owner, copied the Chamber and posted a bad review on the Sun, newsherald and various other travel and restaurant reviews.

I also have been to the Hotel DeFuniak restaurant quite a few times over the years and it was fabulous before the new owners took over. We considered Mom and Dad's but I really wanted them to experience the great dining that I THOUGHT Bogie's would be. Maybe we'll do Borago's tonight where I can depend on being treated right with a great meal!

Will keep you guys posted to see if they even care!
You go girl! So sorry about that horrible experience. Bogie's, unfortunately, has been proven recently to be average at it's best. You won't go wrong at Borago!
ShallowsNole avatar
Beach Fanatic
#9
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Don't forget to put a letter in the DeFuniak Herald - which is what most of NoWal reads.
Cork On the Ocean avatar
directionally challengedAuthor
#10
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

You go girl! So sorry about that horrible experience. Bogie's, unfortunately, has been proven recently to be average at it's best. You won't go wrong at Borago!

Would you believe I haven't heard a word from the owner's. That's really bad for an owner to not even respond. They'll go under for sure if they continue treating people that way.

Don't forget to put a letter in the DeFuniak Herald - which is what most of NoWal reads.

I copied the DeFuniak Herald on the email and links to the reviews that I posted. So far the only one that I heard from was NW Daily News. She doesn't remember the article but will take another look at them I'm sure.

Will keep you posted.
Miss Kitty avatar
Meow
#11
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Wow Corky...I just read this! Knowing you, I am sure you were nothing but a class act. Someone needs a lesson in customer relations. How unfortunate that the owners have not responded. Keep us posted.

You will see the other side of service at Borago. And, I mean the best side. Enjoy! :wave:
ShallowsNole avatar
Beach Fanatic
#12
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Also Cork - if it helps, I've heard much the same thing from a co-worker that went there for their anniversary, except your service was worse. She said that her steak was so small, it wouldn't have fed a bird, and her husband's steak was so full of gristle that it was impossible to deal with. They left Bogie's, went to Beef O'Bradys and had a great time.

Another co-worker went to Bogie's on a Saturday night and was treated wonderfully, with great food. :idontno:

I know I'm not taking any chances.
drsvelte avatar
Beach Fanatic
#13
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

Unfortunately, I think this happens more frequently than we think. The customer is taken for granted; just another buck. The management at Bogies and Pandoras apparently haven't read Danny Meyer's Setting the Table.

I can relate an anecdote that started in nearly the same way but had a far different ending. About 12-13 years ago I was planning the annual crawfish boil for our organization. Each year, just for fun, I would move the event around from venue-to-venue and caterer-to-caterer. On the year in question, I contracted with Chef John Folse to have the event at his beautiful White Oak Plantation (http://www.jfolse.com/whiteoak/index.htm).

We got everything organized and were ready to go. The Spring day turned out to be beautiful. The Plantation itself was fantastic with plenty of grounds for people to move around and for kids to play. The band I hired was great. Finally, the crawfish were ready and the food was served. There was plenty of it, but unfortunately, the quality of the crawfish left much to be desired. They were very small and most everyone in my party agreed that they were poorly seasoned. Although nobody complained too much, it was a disappointment.

The next week I received a follow-up call from a member of Folse?s staff asking how the event went. I said most everything was great, but that the crawfish really were not very good. (Particularly so, since we had spent over $5,000.) The staff member apologized and said she would get back with me soon.

The next day she called back again and said she had spoken to Chef Folse and he was equally unhappy at the turn of events. It turns out the folks that boiled the crawfish were not Folse?s people but a subcontractor. She said the Chef wanted to make things right. She asked if I could round up about 100-150 of my people, pick a night, and be the guests of Chef Folse at the Plantation for dinner. We picked an evening and lined up the guests. When we arrived at the plantation we found that Chef Folse had put on a spectacular Cajun Louisiana buffet. Jambalaya, etoufees, gumbo, sausages, duck, dirty rice, etc. It was a night to remember and my respect for Chef Folse really went up to the top of the scale. This went far beyond anything I had any right to expect, but it has made me a lifelong customer of his services and products.

Several years later I had lunch with the Chef and reminded him of this incident and how his actions had made such a positive impression on us. He said mistakes in his industry do happen, they?re inevitable. But his business philosophy was to always try to make things right with the client ? even though he knew that occasionally he would be fleeced by a few unscrupulous customers. Its no wonder that he has been one of the most successful and admired chefs and entrepreneurs in Louisiana. 😀
Beach Crab
#14
Owner's Reply- Appaling experience at Bogies

This is in reply to a customer's bad experience at my restaurant, Bogey's Bar & Restaurant in Defuniak Springs.
I feel like I?m doing damage control, something that I have never had to do in the year and a half that we?ve been open.

I am saddened that your experience was not up to expectations. The Tuesday night that you came was an unusually busy one for us, we normally do 30-40 covers on tuesday, that night we did over 70.
In speaking with the staff involved, I see that there needs to be some clarification as to what happened. You did arrive without a reservation and were asked to come back at 7:15, as you stated you came back at 6:45, we were still quite busy at this point. Your server was also waiting on a party of 15 and had other tables, we got unexpectedly busy and didn?t have enough staff on hand, this does happen in restaurants and if we called someone in, by the time they got to work it would've been too late. I did know we were getting quite busy and told the servers to inform the customers that were behind the party of 15 that their food would take some time. Your server informed you of this, and you replied that it wasn?t a problem. 45 minutes to get your bread... was it really that long? we bake bread fresh throughout the night and there is always some in the warmer. An hour and 15 minutes for salads is also a very long time and if it was really that long there is no excuse for it, although we did run out of salads completely and had to make more. (we ran out of a lot of things that night) We prepared your meals as soon as we could get to your ticket in the kitchen, if I recall, two of your party had split a stuffed shrimp entr?e, I didn?t realize that half wanted asparagus with b?arnaise and half wanted a baked potato, we had to re-do the plates which did take up more time and possibly did make that dish cold.. my bad for not checking the temperature of the food, I had been cooking food at full speed for 3 ? hours without a break at that point, I was a little bleary-eyed. The other meals were in the warming lamp for a few minutes while we fixed the stuffed shrimp mixup, I doubt they were COLD as you stated. Speaking with the server, she said that she put down the plates at your table, the person with the stuffed shrimp touched the rim of the plate and determined that the plate was room temperature and thus their, and everyone else?s food must be cold, at which point your entire party got up and left.

When we have a problem with a guest?s food, I have the server bring it back to the kitchen to see what the problem is. No one at your table had touched anything on their plates, so the determination that the entire party?s meals were cold is false in my estimation since no one actually tried thier food.

Our manager?s actions is another matter. She has been doing this for a long time, and has had to deal with disgruntled guests before, and there does come a point that there is nothing more to say to a guest who is ?Pissed off? (is ?Pissed? really profanity?) because they won?t listen. I don?t know if this was the case with you, but a lot of times it is what happens in my experience.

And where were you supposed to get dinner at 9pm? You had perfectly good meals right in front of you but refused them.

I thank you for CC?ing us on the email you sent to the Daily News because I did find something quite ironic contained in it. You stated that ?In my opinion, when the Chef/Owner knows that it has just taken 2 hours to get a dinner out, he should have come out to the table and personally apologized, at the least! Tim Crehan at Beachwalk in Destin would have been at our table, personally serving it and it would have been warm.? (had I done that, that would have left only one person on the cook line, it wouldnt be fair to diners who came after you)
There are a few ironic points there, Tim Creehan came and ate at our restaurant and was thoroughly delighted, he even sent a note back to the kitchen saying ?Great Job Chef!? in French. He also invited me to be on his television program. Also, when the daily news reviewed our restaurant, we received 4 stars which is the maximum possible, while if I recall correctly, Beachwalk got 3 ? stars.
While it?s obvious that Chef Creehan is a successful Chef and businessman, I?m sure that he has the time to meet and greet with diners and address their concerns because he most likely has a full brigade in his modern, fully equipped kitchen with a Chef de Cuisine overseeing them all. Leaving him with time to do other things.

I have personally cooked every dinner service (and lots of lunches) we have had in the year and a half since we?ve been open. Myself and my Sous Chef and a dishwasher are the only ones in the kitchen throughout the week, we have another line cook help us on the weekends. I am the owner, chef, a line cook, I do the accounting, payroll, I?m the webmaster and I even sweep and mop the floors 5 days a week and do dishes if necessary.

My point is is that I can?t afford to keep a full crew on hand at all times for every contingency, and our kitchen is 12? x 40? including the dish station, there wouldn?t be room for them anyway. If our diners have to wait because we are backed up in the kitchen, I?m sorry for that, but we never compromise on quality just because we?re busy. My goal is absolute consistency from meal to meal, but obviously some do slip by.

Another irony: Corky?s waitress that evening that she obviously did not care for, she even stated that she should be fired, has been with us since we opened, and was the one who waited on Tim Creehan. She also waited on the restaurant reviewer from the Daily News, Colleen Coffield. (Colleen ate with us again for lunch last week)

To others who have read Corky post and have decided that Bogey?s is not for them, I invite you to come try us for yourselves instead of making a decision based on one person?s opinion. We constantly get rave reviews from our customers on our food, service and atmosphere. We also have guests that routinely drive up from the beach to dine with us. They say that we?re as good as anything on the beach, and the money they save with our reasonably priced menu pays for their gas.

I invite all of you to come give us a try for yourselves, that includes you Corky, for had you stayed that night and actually ate your meals, my guess is is that we wouldn?t be having this discussion right now.

While I?m on an ?Ironic roll? here?. To the person who said that they love to eat at the Busy Bee Caf? when they?re in Defuniak because of the Panko crusted fish sandwich and the green tomatoes?.. We are the ones you?re speaking about. Before buying the hotel and restaurant, we owned the Busy Bee for the two years prior. We have the same wonderful lunch menu that you remember from there, still prepared the same way. The new busy bee is a barbeque restaurant now.

I hope to see you all soon and thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
Brad Harding ? Chef/Owner
Hotel Defuniak and Bogey?s Restaurant.
http://www.hoteldefuniak.com
Jdarg avatar
SoWal Expert
#15
Re: Owner's Reply- Appaling experience at Bogies

I just read this response, and I am not impressed with the attitude.

Yes, it sounds like you had a busy night. However, of all posters on this message board, Cork is the LAST person to exaggerate or lie, which is what you have accused her of doing. Also, why would she take the time to post her bad experience if it wasn't so bad, like you are inferring?

I suggest that you spend a few minutes and look at some old threads in the restaurant forum. Look for some of the ones dealing with bad meals, service, etc. in local establishments. Notice the classy and smart way the owners dealt with the unsatisfied customers- they apologized profusely, didn't make excuse after excuse, offered to do whatever it took to make things right, in short- did not attack the unsatisfied customer. Why should Cork ever come back to your restaurant? I can't think of one reason.
Arkiehawg avatar
Beach Fanatic
#16
Re: Bogie's in Defuniak Springs appalling

To Mr. Harding:

I just finished reading your response to the party that started the thread and was extremely dissappointed. You stated that because you were short staffed you didn't have time to meet with an unhappy patron because it would delay the delivery of the meals for your other customers? Perhaps if you would have taken a few minutes to do that, we wouldn't have had this thread in the first place. You don't think that an employee of yours was wrong stating "Pissed " to a customer! Wow....

Food for thought....if you are swamped and can't take care of a customer in a timely manner, perhaps you should politely apologize that you can't take anymore customers that evening and invite them back for another evening at a courtesy discount.

I always take threads like this with a bit of a "grain of salt"....because things do happen in the industry and nothing is perfect. But, after reading your letter, basically blaming the issues on the customer and not you and your staff.....well....?

Let's just say that I would have consider going to your restaurant prior to your response. Now, I can assure you that neither I nor my family will ever go to your restaurant and that I will be a steward of encouraging my friends to do likewise....

Enjoy 2008.....

Edited

Beach Comber
#17
Re: Owner's Reply- Appaling experience at Bogies

sounds like Cork left out a couple of details . . . truth is probably somewhere in the middle!?
NoHall avatar
hmmmm......can't remember
#18
Re: Owner's Reply- Appaling experience at Bogies

I agree with JDarg. Sounds like she was served poorly and treated badly. Me thinks he doth protest too much.

Maybe if they treated all the customers like they treat the likes of Tim Creehan and Colleen Coffield...alas, the peons have to eat, too.
uga_beachbum avatar
Beach Comber
#19
Re: Owner's Reply- Appaling experience at Bogies

It seems to me that if Mr. Harding would invest as much time in customer service as he does in making excuses for his lack of customer service his restaurant may have a chance of surviving. I will guarantee him that the attitude he blatantly displayed in his verbose reply will produce nothing but empty seats and a for lease sign in the window. A restaurant can get by with just good food, but excellent customer service is a must. His reply is a disservice to him. He would have been much better off by just offering an apology and asking for a second chance. Please remember Mr. Harding customers make for a successful restaurant, not you and your staff being right.
Arkiehawg avatar
Beach Fanatic
#20
Re: Owner's Reply- Appaling experience at Bogies

To Mr. Harding:

I just finished reading your response to the party that started the thread and was extremely dissappointed. You stated that because you were short staffed you didn't have time to meet with an unhappy patron because it would delay the delivery of the meals for your other customers? Perhaps if you would have taken a few minutes to do that, we wouldn't have had this thread in the first place. You don't think that an employee of yours was wrong stating "Pissed " to a customer! Wow....

Food for thought....if you are swamped and can't take care of a customer in a timely manner, perhaps you should politely apologize that you can't take anymore customers that evening and invite them back for another evening at a courtesy discount.

You do seem to take pride in your experiences with Tim Creehan and a restaurant reviewer. But, I wonder what kind of comments they would have expressed if they would have experienced a two hour delay in receiving their meal on an evening when you were slammed? Perhaps a bit more humble pie would be recommended instead of excuses.

I always take threads like this with a bit of a "grain of salt"....because things do happen in the industry and nothing is perfect. But, after reading your letter, basically blaming the issues on the customer and not you and your staff.....well....?

Let's just say that I would have consider going to your restaurant prior to your response. Now, I can assure you that neither I nor my family will ever go to your restaurant and that I will be a steward of encouraging my friends to do likewise....

Enjoy 2008.....

Thread locked

This conversation is read-only until a moderator unlocks it.