Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: CenturyLink DSL problems?


  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Seagrove
    Posts
    1,795
    Images
    25

    CenturyLink DSL problems?

    It's slow for me. Some stuff works, some doesn't. Been that way all day. I called them about noon, and they said there was a problem in Ft. Walton effecting SoWal, with an estimated 6pm fix time.

    This all started overnight, it seems. All was OK yesterday.

  2. #2
    Definitely still having issues.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SoWal via Louisville
    Posts
    17,901
    Images
    19
    Ours is working fine up off Bay Drive.

  4. #4
    It is moving at a snail's pace over here on the Eden side of Pt.Washington and I've heard of complete outages off of Thompson drive.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    SoWal Local
    Posts
    192
    Yes...it happened overnight and it is still slow as hail over here in Seacrest Beach. Not even sure this post will make it....or is it even worth it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Seagrove
    Posts
    1,795
    Images
    25
    Still whacked out this morning for me. I have Yahoo mail. It will open the Yahoo front page, but not the mail. Facebook opens, but you can't play Scrabble. That sort of irregular thing. Some sites won't open at all, others (like SoWal) are slow but OK.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Seagrove
    Posts
    1,795
    Images
    25
    I just got off the phone with CenturyLink. They are now projecting 6 PM tonight for resolution. Thrilled, I tell you, just thrilled...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Seagrove
    Posts
    1,795
    Images
    25
    And I have to say, five years ago my work would have been crippled - I have an essential daily flow of email. Now, I'm saved by my Android phone, although I did have to remember to switch it off my home wireless.

  9. #9
    Tree Frog - Thanks for calling and posting here. I was just getting ready to call again so now I won't bother.Especially frustrating since I am thinking seriously of dropping the landline and the satellite and just streaming to the tv. I looked at Mediacom's website (can't believe I felt that desperate) to see what their internet costs these days. There is a special - two prices shown, which is it?? - but requires a 2-year contract, it goes up $10 after a year, and then after two years it goes to the "regular" price, which is nowhere shown. Now I remember why I switched from their cable to satellite. I hate that s***.One thing I will say for Century Link - at least when I called yesterday, twice, I got a real person both times.FYI - a Century Lilnk tech person told me a while back that if you drop the landline and keep their DSL that you can still call 911 by plugging an old fashioned, non-electric phone into the jack. For anyone thinking of dropping their landline because they only keep it for emergencies like hurricanes, I would verify this first.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    SoWal Local
    Posts
    192
    Ok...it took me 3 hours to get here but I was relieved to see that there was an update AND to save me from calling. Thanks TreeFrog! It has been a long time since visiting SoWal...it appears it is still THE go-to place for local news and happenings. I'll be checking back!

  11. #11

    i've had centry tel 3 yrs never a prob;em but mediacom offered me great deal

    i only use my home maybe 6 weeks a yr now as i rent. i've had mediacom sending me offers for years for phone and net but never jumped as it was always a yr lockin and i don't want to switch back and forth, anything they offered me $4.95 each for both net and phone but they offered only $10 increase the second yr, si\o that saves me around $2k over the next yr so i have to jump. i

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Seagrove
    Posts
    1,795
    Images
    25
    Well, it came back about 3:30 for us. Hope everyone else is back now, too. Dang, that was a bit of an ordeal. Too much one-finger typing on the phone.

  13. #13
    Anyone else having intermittent problems again? Similar to the last outage last month?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Near the ATL and in SoWal as often as possible
    Posts
    14,651
    Images
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by NotDeadYet View Post
    Anyone else having intermittent problems again? Similar to the last outage last month?
    No. It's just always so darned slow.

  15. #15
    BR, do you know which modem you have?
    I called and complained and they are sending me a new one. After I reset this one yet again it started working better, but that usually does not work for me.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Near the ATL and in SoWal as often as possible
    Posts
    14,651
    Images
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by NotDeadYet View Post
    BR, do you know which modem you have?
    I called and complained and they are sending me a new one. After I reset this one yet again it started working better, but that usually does not work for me.
    That happened to us a year or so ago, they sent us a new modem, and the problems stopped happened. Still slow (for example, for watching things on youtube).

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Blue Mountain Beach
    Posts
    769
    Images
    2
    I saw a Century Link truck working in Blu Mountain Beach yesterday. 2/13

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Blue Mnt. Beach
    Posts
    7
    I was having trouble with my DSL for the last few weeks. The modem kept resetting itself. This past weekend I finally gave up and I called technical support. We determined that yes, after 11 years, the modem needs replacing. Century Link doesn't provide free modem replacement anymore. They want you to lease a new one for $3.99 a month.

    I went to Newegg and ordered the Actiontec GT701D for around $45. Hooked it up today. With the old modem my download speed was 1.24 Mbps although I was paying for 3.0Mbps. With the new modem I'm getting 2.74Mbps.

  19. #19
    Thanks!

    Century Link sent me a new modem for free - has something to do with the plan I was given when I signed up. Haven't hooked it up yet, will be interesting to see if I can get better speed. I also pay for 3.0 and haven't been getting it reliably.
    If this modem isn't any better I wouldn't mind paying for my own if it works well.

  20. Hey NotDeadYet - Please let us know if that modem does not work or does not improve the service we are providing. CenturylinkHelp is here to assist everyone in the online/social forums and communities we provide service in.

    If anyone else needs assistance please let us know either by secure web form from our FaceBook page: http://on.fb.me/y4mR0U or by emailing us directly at TalkToUs@Centurylink.com


    You can alsow meet our team of specialists from that link or tweet at us @CenturylinkHelp

    Thanks,

    Rich @CenturylinkHelp

  21. #21
    Bump.
    New modem did not solve the problem. Today I finally got passed on to advanced tech support. After about an hour and a half, during which time the tech tried a whole bunch of things, I am waiting for a call back. Tech was really nice or I would have gone screaming out the back door.
    Anyone else having problems with just some web sites?

  22. #22
    Got the promised call back. The problem is resolved, at least for now, but the exact cause is still not quite pinned down. I have to say, the tech was great.

  23. #23
    NotDeadYet, I had similar problems yesterday, but i don't think it was Centurylink.

    Whenever you connect to a web site, your request actually gets routed through a number of servers that work behind the scenes to process all requests on the Internet (sort of like a road from your house to the place you want to go). Not all websites are found on the same route, meaning if one of these servers is down, you might still be able to get to another site. Using something called a traceroute, you can see the path your request has to make, and if there is any outage along the line (extending the analogy of a road, a traffic jam or closed road). Doing this traceroute yesterday for the sites I couldn't access, I could see that my connection was getting out to the Internet, but would stop and hang at the same point every time.

    I called tech support at Centurylink but the standard techs really didn't know how to deal with the information, and had no ability to look into the problem (she said I should contact the different websites I couldn't get to and talk to them, but we're talking about at least half the Internet that I could not access!). It suddenly got resolved in the early afternoon, but I've as yet been able to find any information about an outage in the broader Internet that would have caused this problem. It might have been Centurylink, but it might have been another company that provides these routing servers.

    In general, though, if you can connect to some sites, it's generally not a problem with your equipment or line (although may be a problem with your provider generally). There's a neat site called Down for Everyone or Just Me (http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/), that can help figure these problems out.

    Hope this helps!

  24. #24
    Childerelda, thanks for posting, very interesting. I didn't go into much detail in my post because I didn't know if anyone would be particularly interested, so here is a bit more info for you. First, you are correct, the standard techs don't know enough. I think the magic words for getting passed up to advanced tech might be "I am so frustrated that I am about to give up and switch to cable internet," which I did say, since I have had this same problem, or one very like it, before, and having run through all the simple stuff with the regular techs several times in the past I was quite sure it was not just me. We have three computers here - two different Windows (7 and xp) and had the problem on all three and also on all three browsers - Chrome, IE, and Firefox. Advanced tech suspects a DNS issue, and at the end of the day we left one computer with it's DNS server changed to google, and the other two are set to Century Link's DNS servers. If it happens again, which I suspect it will, that might narrow down the issue. It was an hour and a half with the advanced tech on the first call, and he did everything he could and went off to consult with advanced advanced tech, I guess, and called me back after a couple of hours. Very coincidental that that was early afternoon, and in between the phone calls it suddenly resolved. On the second call he did a few more things, and that is when we discovered that it was fixed, but apparently not by anything we did.
    If you have the problem again, see if you can get beyond the basic techs. The guy I worked with was pretty knowledgeable, as well as very professional. And he calmed me down, lol, normally I can't do two hours of techie stuff on the phone like that - my brain starts feeling like it's going to explode.

Similar Threads

  1. Tell me your immediate problems
    By Bob in forum SoWal Lounge
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 09:08 PM
  2. Problems with St. Joe
    By coondog in forum Real Estate
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 08:55 PM
  3. CenturyLink DSL Problems...Again!
    By 30A Radio in forum Business, Goods and Services
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 02:21 PM
  4. Embarq name change decided. Will be CenturyLink
    By wrobert in forum Business, Goods and Services
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-04-2009, 02:34 PM
  5. Gas Problems
    By WaltonUndercurrent in forum All About SoWal
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-27-2005, 01:18 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •